"Voices of the Chamber"

May 13, 2022, 7:30pm

First Congregational Church, Historic Downtown Boulder

1128 Pine St, Boulder, CO 80302


Claire McCahan, mezzo-soprano (a top prize winner at World Bach Competition)

Zachary Carrettín, violin

Yu-Eun Kim, violin (a prizewinner at BICMC Art of Duo)

Paul Miller, viola

Coleman Itzkoff, cello (a prizewinner at BICMC Art of Duo)

Ysmael Reyes, flute

Christopher Holman, organ and harpsichord 


and additional vocal and instrumental artists of COmpass REsonance


Voices of the Chamber focuses on intimate chamber music performed by some of our nation’s most insightful interpreters of baroque music. Trio sonatas by Isabella Leonarda, Giovanni Legrenzi, and Dario Castello offer a view into 17th century Italy, as compared and contrasted with J.S. Bach in the same genre. Violist Paul Miller and harpsichordist Christopher Holman present J.S. Bach’s Sonata in G Minor for viola da gamba and keyboard obbligato, and mezzo-soprano Claire McCahan is joined by three violas, violin, and basso continuo in a striking Lamento composed by Johann Christoph Bach. 


Johann Sebastian Bach’s motet, Komm, Jesu, komm will be performed in the authentic manner of a one-per-part vocal octet featuring extraordinary professional singers embracing the soloistic nature of the interweaving contrapuntal lines, and the sublime ensemble textures rich with harmonic meaning. 


An afternoon lecture covering the repertoire will take place in the chapel in addition to an afternoon masterclass.


J.S. Bach Trio Sonata in G Major, BWV 1039

Johann Christoph Bach Lamento: Ach, dass ich Wassers gnug hätte

J.S. Bach Sonata in G Minor  for viola da gamba and harpsichord obbligato BWV 1029 (performed on viola)


Dario Castello Sonata in A Minor (Libro primo) for violin and basso continuo

Isabella Leonarda (Trio) Sonata Prima

Giovanni Legrenzi (Trio) Sonata La Cornara 

G.P. Telemann Fantasia No. 1 for violin solo

J.S. Bach Motet: Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229